Mari

Sydney: I let go of what was holding me down.

In Strategy, Take action on 10/13/2009 at 2:10 pm

I admire @SydneyOwen so much. She’s young, but she’s fierce. She’s one of those girls you’re going to see climbing the corporate ladder a lot faster than everyone else, because she’s SMART about it.

When I first met Sydney, I didn’t have much of a chance to talk to her. All I could gather was that she was just about to graduate college, and she already had a PR internship lined up. “Good for you,” I told her. And when Sydney came to town, she did her internship. She worked hard. And then she got a full-time job offer, all while I watched from the sidelines, cheering her on.

Powerhouse, I’m telling you.

I was reading her blog about a 24-hour period of vulnerability that was one of those do-or-die times in her life. And instead of sitting back and letting the world figure out how it’d work Sydney in, she took control of the situation and made things happen for herself:

“. . . I fully committed to myself and to my life and to the start of my career. . . . I let go of what was holding me down and didn’t turn back. Full steam ahead.”

sydney

So proud of you, Miss Sydney!

  1. Sydney’s a huge inspiration, and probably at the top of my ‘must meet’ list. Plus, the site redesign she’s just let out is super hawt.

  2. Um, DShan, WTF. When are we hanging out? Are you coming to the AKA Sweet Tweet on Thursday? http://twtvite.com/2g3qxv. The cupcakes are nothing like Mari’s – but I’m a sucker for a good crowd and some popcorn.

    Mari – this blog is FAB. This post in particular is extra fab, but I might be biased. 😉

  3. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  4. […] one day, a blog I follow featured Sydney Owen. That post made her stand out from the blend of people I was following, and I […]

Leave a Reply

