Mari

Jess: Dirty hair works best.

In Create, Dancing on 10/19/2009 at 3:31 pm

Don’t judge me for it, but I was a songgirl in high school – the cheerleaders who dance with poms. When we weren’t cheering at a game, we were competing. (Think: Bring It On, which is a scarily accurate portrayal of the competitive world of cheerleading. And yes, we had a barfer on our squad.) Part of competition was doing our hair – the main part of competing that I absolutely hated.

I have a lot of hair. Getting it up into a ponytail that wouldn’t fall out with triple pirouettes and scissor leaps and hitch kicks and toe touches was quite a challenge. I literally tied my head together with eight heavy-duty rubber bands to secure the ponytail prior to using 100+ pink sponge rollers to get it nice and 90’s permy.

pink rollersIt was all in vain, though, because it never held a curl. Then one night at a curl party, my squadmate Jess G. said in the most epiphonic way, “Mari! Your hair is too clean! Dirty hair works best if you want it to hold any kind of curl.” And then she sprayed 13 different types of goop into my hair before rolling in the pink spongies.

In case you were wondering, yes, we got first place at Mission SJ and qualified for Nationals that day.

I attribute it to my fabulously permy, curly hair, courtesy of Jess. Thanks, lovely!

  1. I can say with some certainty that this is NOT always the case. Dirty hair is definitely NOT working best for me. I look like a scrub today!

  2. OH MY GOSH!! I’m so honored!! Thank-you, thank-you Miss Mari. I feel really, really blessed! Wow! You made my day.

Leave a Reply

