Mari

Cousin Noriko: A lesson in plastic origami.

In Create, Human behavior, Just plain fun, Organization on 11/11/2009 at 10:01 pm

I have four girl cousins who live in Japan. We’re not BFFs (language barriers and geography have sort of prevented YaYa Sisterhoods), but we do bond over the important things: 90210, Mariah Carey, and Harry Potter.

The last time I went to visit, I stayed with my cousin Noriko. Her 2-bedroom condo was 300 square feet. Her kitchen was maybe 5×5 at best. Her dishwasher sat on the counter like a toaster oven. Her laundry machine and dryer were the same unit (throw clothes in, wash, rinse, spin, heat-dry cycle – no need to change machines). It was the perfect poster condo for IKEA.Ā (Ironic side note: the word for “condo” in Japanese is “mansion.”)

By necessity, everything’s teeny tiny and serves a practical purpose in Japan. I even saw it in the way they store their plastic shopping bags from the supermarket:bags

I’m pretty sure she’s converted over to reusable bags by now, but holy jaw-drop.

If anybody wants to get together over lunch sometime and learn how to fold plastic bags, I’m happy to give lessons. Because it’s just THAT FREAKING COOL.

  1. Yes, I must know how to do this! Maybe at NMN??

  2. LOVE. It!

  3. I must learn how to do this. Seriously, I have eleventy-billion plastic bags and this looks almost as cool and fun as cutting them up and making plastic yarn and plastic bag bags out of them!

  4. That is CRAZY! But I love it šŸ™‚

  5. I think we can all learn something from this!
    Nice post, Mari! thx!

    • As a European/Central American, you would know better than I would about space restrictions. One day, I’ll have to show you how to do this. šŸ™‚

      Thanks for the comment!

  6. Plastic origami football. Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

