Mari

Bridget: Color Czars decide EVERYTHING.

In Clothes, Create, Shoes, Watch on 12/05/2009 at 6:19 pm

This past Thursday, I was at a Smitten Boutique for an event hosted by Kehoe Designs (an amazing florist/design company in Chicago). I met their Creative Director, Bridget (@BridgetCJohnson), who educated me on upcoming color trends for 2010. Lighter shades of yellow, lavender, and bold blues will be hot next year. (Just watch.)

And then I asked her how designers know what’s going to be in for the coming year. And she told me there’s a forecasting committee called the Color Czars; they’re the end-all, be-all of color palettes. They’re collaborating on 2015 right now.

So basically, a handful of people in the whole world decide what our living rooms, cars, iPods, Gap sweaters, handbags, shoes, lipstick, and hair color are going to be.

That’s a ridiculous amount of power.

  1. Yes! I’ve known about the Color Illuminati for a few years now. It is absolutely ridiculous how much they control, and even worse that people fall right into it. I actually don’t even like talking about it because I get all riled up.

    • This coming from the guy who buys t-shirts at Walgreens.

      I can’t wait for 2015. I think the color palette will complement my skin tone perfectly. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

