Mari

Jenny: Change your case.

In Health, Super Helpful Info on 05/30/2012 at 6:45 am

My optometrist Jenny and I went to high school together in a tech-centric San Francisco suburb. I think we may have had French classes together all those years (‘Je suis un ananas’ via Téléfrançais, anyone?). She was always a good student and sort of quiet in class, but in real life, I always liked her to-the-point sense of humor and snark.

Somehow, we California girls both ended up in Chicago.

Just a couple of months ago, I scheduled my first appointment with Dr. Jenny, who told me that my eyesight was pretty much the same, but who also told me that, like a toothbrush, I needed to throw out the case for my contacts every three months.

I’ve been wearing contacts for over 10 years, and I had no idea.

So, in honor of Jenny, I wrote a poem:

There once was a doctor who said
“Protein buildup makes your eyes go red.
Wash your lenses each day
Throw your cases away
And don’t wear your contacts to bed!”

Leave a Reply

