Mari

Gene: Be a Good Public Speaker.

In Be memorable, Super Helpful Info on 06/20/2012 at 5:46 pm

Gene Honda (PA announcer for the White Sox and Blackhawks) was an honored Asian American community member in Chicago at the AAI’s annual awards night. He was honored not only for being a well-known voice in Chicago, but also for his contributions to the community.

During his acceptance speech, he said:

“The best piece of advice I’ve ever gotten from anyone was from my father. He said, ‘If you’re going to do well in life, you HAVE to know how to be a good public speaker.’ So from that point forward, I buckled down and learned how to be a good public speaker.”

I’ve always enjoyed speaking, but I remember being told by my high school speech/debate teacher, Mr. Cates, that I use “like” and “so, yeah” way too much – and I talk too quickly, too. The truth is, nobody’s ever as good as they think they are when they’re on stage. So this was a good reminder that I really need to keep practicing and learn from each presentation – and that more opportunities come from being dynamic than being a dud.

Leave a Reply

